Department receives Keene State ‘Transformation Award’

The Department of Geography received Keene State’s ‘Transformation Award’ for demonstrating recent achievements in establishing three coordinated initiatives:

  • Geography Internship Program;
  • GIS Research Lab
  • Conference Presentation Opportunities

Geography competed against dozens of other departments and programs on campus to earn second place in the competition. The Transformation Award recognizes departments that have transformed their work to align more closely with the college’s three
strategic priorities:

  • Academic Excellence and Student Success
  • Institutional Effectiveness, Sustainability, and Financial Stability
  • Diversity in the Community, Curriculum, and Co-curriculum

The award was based on the department’s poster presentation which highlights how we levereged the success of our Senior Seminar course and community partnerships into this new set of initiatives. The poster, created by Dr. Chris Cusack, can be seen here.

Transformation Award

Geography Honor Society gains 12 new students

On April 25th, twelve students were inducted into Gamma Theta Upsilon, the Geography Honor Society.  The ceremony was held in the Mountain View Room of the Student Center, and was followed by dinner at a downtown restaurant.  Pictured here (l. to r.): Current president Amelia Armstrong, Charles Stoll, David Webb, Steve Vitko, Andrew Lampron, Greg McCormick, Samuel Rand, Emily Francis, Chris Dunn, Bryan Finocchiaro, Mike Harpool (new president), Patrick Brough (current vice president) and Keith Pancake.  Not pictured are new members Luke Mathews and Max Marek and current members Kelley Levine, Ryan Gould and Michelle Lefebvre. GTU Induction 2013